Triple Crown Horse Racing

The Triple Crown of horse racing was actually not a recognized feat when Sir Barton swept the three races back in 1919.

The term “Triple Crown” was an expression first used by Daily Racing Form columnist Charlie Hatton or some argue was first put into print by New York Times writer Bryan Field, who used the expression after Gallant Fox won the Belmont Stakes in 1930 to complete the sweep of the three races.

The Thoroughbred Racing Association formally recognized the three-race series in 1950, and commissioned Cartier to make a three-sided trophy to honor the winner of the Triple Crown

The trophy gathered dust for 23 years, the next Triple Crown winner Secretariat accomplishing the feat in 1973.

The ‘70s saw three Triple Crown winners including the last, Affirmed in 1978.

Horse wagering on the Triple Crown events hit a fever pitch on the first Saturday of May for the Kentucky Derby, which usually draws a full field of 20 three-year-olds trying 1 ¼ miles for the first time in their careers.

There are a variety of options for horseplayers seeking to make a score, including Win, Place, Show, Daily Doubles, Exactas, Quinellas, Trifectas, Superfectas, Pick 3, and Pick 4 wagering.

Some of the biggest payoffs can be found on the Triple Crown races, including two recent Kentucky Derby winners that paid in excess of $100 to win.


Bodog Racebook offers one of the top online wagering experiences, with a Racebook that includes wagering on more than 80 tracks, including wagering on all of the Triple Crown race.

Bodog offers a large menu of future and prop wagers on all of the big stakes races, and has one of the most generous rebate programs among the online Racebooks. They also have easy deposit methods and signing up and getting in on the action literally takes just a few minutes, about the same time it takes for the Kentucky Derby winner to break from the gate and cross the wire.