Triple Crown Race Tracks

The venues of the Triple Crown races are among the most hallowed grounds in all of sports. And seeing as they likely will not change for another hundred years, the three Triple Crown race tracks are destined to anchor themselves into the history books American thoroughbred racing folklore.

Churchill Downs Race Track

It all starts under the Twin Spires of Churchill Downs for the Kentucky Derby, which will be run for the 136th time this year on the first Saturday of May.

The Louisville, Kentucky track opened its doors in 1875, and that was the first year the Run for the Roses was contested, along with its sister race, the Kentucky Oaks.

Pimlico Race Course

Pimlico Race Course in Baltimore, Maryland, is nicknamed “Old Hilltop” and hosts the middle jewel of the Triple Crown, the Preakness Stakes.

The historic track opened in 1870, with the colt Preakness winning the first running of the Dinner Party Stakes. Three years later the colt had the Preakness Stakes named in his honor.

Belmont Park Race Track

The third leg of the Triple Crown is run at Belmont Park, which opened in 1905. The expansive oval plays host to the Belmont Stakes, the longest of the Triple Crown races at 1 ½ miles.

If a horse that has won both the Kentucky Derby and Preakness Stakes, and also wins the Belmont – it is awarded with the illustrious Triple Crown title.

The Kentucky Derby will draw a full field of 20 promising and talented three-year-olds, making it one of the best wagering opportunities of the year for horseplayers.

Three-year-olds are tested by being asked to go 1 ¼ miles, something they have not tried, which can lead to a recipe for huge payoffs.

In two of the past five years, winners Mine That Bird and Giacomo crossed the wire first at odds of greater than 50/1.


Betting the Derby can lead to massive payoffs. Last year’s $2 superfecta payoff exceeded a half-million dollars.

Horseplayers looking to find an edge wagering online look to the Racebook at when they play the ponies. offers wagering in over 80 racetracks, and offers up to 5% back on all wagering.

With futures, matchup, and prop betting on all of the Triple Crown races, is the choice by sharp horseplayers worldwide.